Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), which replaced the No Child Left Behind Act, asks Ohio to clearly articulate its plans for using federal funds to ensure accountability for all students, create safe and supportive learning environments, encourage innovation and extended learning opportunities, and more.

What’s happened so far?

Ohio released a draft plan to meet the requirements of the law in February 2017. The state requested — and received feedback from thousands of Ohioans during the last year (Learn more about stakeholder engagement). The U.S. Department of Education released a revised plan template in March. Ohio is now releasing new drafts of the ESSA application using the new format required by the U.S. Department of Education.

Ohio is Listening

To ensure an opportunity to receive more comprehensive feedback on Ohio’s revised responses to this new plan template, Ohio will submit its response to the U.S. Department of Education in September of 2017. Ohio will transition to ESSA in the 2017-2018 school year, as required by law.

Ohio’s response to the federal ESSA template compliments much of the work now underway to create Ohio’s comprehensive strategic plan for education – which will include a clear vision for education in Ohio, supported by a set of goals, strategies, tactics and metrics. The strategic plan will allow Ohio to develop its vision for far more than the narrow focus of the ESSA federal template specifications.

Draft Sections of the ESSA Template

As draft sections are presented to the State Board for discussion, they will be posted to the document list below. We welcome additional feedback. Please provide your comments one section at a time, using the subject line that aligns with the title of the section (i.e., Section G: Title IV, Part B: 21st Century Community Learning Centers)using the line number references noted in each document, if possible. Email comments to essa@education.ohio.gov. Final revisions will be presented to the State Board at its meeting July 10 and 11, 2017.

Read more…